Big Board Breakdown: Cenovus is paying C$12 a share for Athabasca Oil. That is 14% over the 20 day average
An implied enterprise value of C$5.7 billion, up to C$4.3 billion of it in cash, funded partly with short term borrowings. Cenovus expects year end net debt of C$5.0 to C$5.5 billion.
October 16, 2026 at 3:40 p.m. EDT · 2 min read

Cenovus Energy agreed on October 5 to buy Athabasca Oil for C$12.00 a share, payable as C$12.00 in cash or 0.264 of a Cenovus share, subject to proration. The deal carries an implied enterprise value of C$5.7 billion.
The price
Athabasca's own release puts the premium at 14% to its 20 day volume weighted average price and 25% to its proved plus probable after tax net asset value. It implies an equity value of about C$5.8 billion. Cenovus's release does not state a premium.
Total cash is capped at C$4.3 billion, or 75% of the consideration, and new Cenovus shares at 44.4 million, or 35%. Cenovus will fund the cash "with cash on hand and certain short-term borrowings," and expects year end 2026 pro forma net debt of C$5.0 billion to C$5.5 billion.
What Cenovus gets
About 45,000 barrels of oil equivalent a day, a stated path to 115,000 barrels a day of thermal production by 2032, full ownership of Duvernay Energy, and about C$85 million a year of corporate and commercial synergies.
The checks
All Athabasca directors and executive officers signed voting support agreements. Peters & Co. and National Bank Financial gave verbal fairness opinions. The release does not disclose a break fee or the vote threshold. Athabasca holders vote in late November, and Cenovus expects to close in December.
Why it matters
A 14% premium is modest for a takeover, and the pitch to Athabasca holders leans on the NAV premium instead. Holders who elect stock take on Cenovus's higher pro forma debt.
Sources: Cenovus; Athabasca Oil.
More from the Energy Desk
Uranium juniors: an investor still unnamed after ten weeks, a price cut 18 days in, and 55,013 hectares for about C$1 million
Energy Desk · 12h ago

Under the Glass: "up to US$567 million" per prospect, on numbers no qualified evaluator signed
Energy Desk · 12h ago
